The history of the refinery, JSC Tsivilnefteorgsintez, dated back to April, 1996 when a new oil refineries were to be constructedin the Volga-Ural province situated in the Southern pat of European Russia. And the successful commencement of operations of the refinery started in September, 1998 with annual designed capacity of oil products of 0.6million tons. Over the years, the production facilities upgrade was done on a step-by-step basis.
Between 1997 to 2005, the construction of AT-1 (Atmospheric Refining Unit) of annual capacity of 0.6MT was upgrade to 1.5MT by the construction of AT-2. There was a revamped of one of key processing plants, the Vacuum Gasoil Hydroconversion Unit, Catalytic Cracking Unit, the Benzene Production Plant and the construction of some other facilitites.
In Compliance with International Standards, the JSC Tsivilnefteorgsintez refinery was certified in 2004. The refinery's oil products have been certified under ISO 9001:2000 International Quality Standards, and receives a Certificate of Compliance under OHSAS 18001 - Occupational Health and Safety Management System.
Within the period of 2008 - 2013, the refinery implemented the construction of the Residual Fuel Vacuum Distillation Unit with the capacity of about 3MT, the Operation of Automatic Oil Quality and Monitoring System, the Diesel Oil Hydro- Treatment Unit and the MEA Regeneration Block of the Sulfur Production Unit for ensuring the Motor Fuel Production Plant Operation.
There were also construction of oil loading tracks and its railway lines, the operation of oil storage terminal (a 14 oil tank of 6,000m3 each) commenced for smooth production and shipment processes. And to reduce significantly the environmental pressure, the flaring system of the refinery was upgraded and put in place.

История НПЗ АО «Цивильнефтеоргсинтез» датируется апрелем 1996 года, когда в Приволжско-Уральском регионе, расположенном на южной окраине Европейской России, должны были быть построены новые нефтеперерабатывающие заводы. И успешное начало работы НПЗ началось в сентябре 1998 года с годовой проектной мощностью нефтепродуктов 0,6 млн тонн. На протяжении многих лет модернизация производственных мощностей осуществлялась поэтапно.
В период с 1997 по 2005 год строительство АТ-1 (Атмосферная перерабатывающая установка) мощностью 0,6 млн тонн в год было увеличено до 1,5 млн тонн за счет строительства АТ-2. Была перестроена одна из ключевых перерабатывающих установок, блок гидроконверсии вакуумного газойля, установка каталитического крекинга, завод по производству бензола и строительство некоторых других вспомогательных материалов.
В соответствии с международными стандартами нефтеперерабатывающий завод АО «Цивильнефтеоргсинтез» был сертифицирован в 2004 году. Нефтепродукты нефтеперерабатывающего завода прошли сертификацию по международным стандартам качества ISO 9001: 2000 и получили сертификат соответствия OHSAS 18001 - Система управления охраной труда.
В период с 2008 по 2013 год НПЗ реализовал строительство Остаточного топлива Вакуумной дистилляционной установки мощностью около 3 Мт, эксплуатации автоматической системы контроля качества и контроля качества масла, установки гидроочистки дизельного топлива и блока регенерации MEA производственного агрегата серы для обеспечения эксплуатации установки по производству моторного топлива.
Также были начаты строительство нефтеналивных путей и железнодорожных путей, началась эксплуатация нефтехранилища (14 танков объемом 6000 м3 каждый) для бесперебойного производства и транспортировки. А для значительного снижения давления окружающей среды была модернизирована и введена в действие система сжигания на факеле.